Bethlehem f’Ghajniselem Nativity Village celebrating its 10th edition

Email item Email item Print item Print item

Bethlehem f'Ghajniselem Nativity Village celebrating 10th editionNext month, the 10th edition of Bethlehem f’Ghajniselem opens in Gozo. The Nativity Village, which is spread over 20,000sqm of land, seeks to replicate, the atmosphere and environs of Bethlehem at the time when Jesus Christ was born over 2000 years ago.

It attracts thousand of visitors from both home and abroad, to experience a truly magical event. It is also recognised as a top 10 Worldwide Destination in Christmas.

The official opening will follows weeks of hard work by the many volunteers who give up their time to make sure that this very popular Nativity Village is ready to welcome visitors on time.

The Organising Committee made up of the Ghajnsielem Local Council, the Ministry for Gozo, the Parish Our Lady of Loreto and Ghajnsielem NGOs, has for the past months met to prepare for this popular annual Christmas event.

The main attraction for visitors is of course the Grotto, with the Baby Jesus in the loving arms of Mary and with Joseph by her side.

Following a map, the public can walk around the village and visit the fisherman’s port, a 100 feet suspended rope bridge which they can cross to take a trip along the river on a Maltese boat, as well as the bakery, the blacksmith, carpenter, the wine tavern, farmhouse, the room of scents, open air market and the Bethlehem Inn.

There will also be a Roman Garrison with live reenactments during animation hours.

The tenth edition of Bethlehem f’Ghajnsielem opens on Sunday, the 9th of December and remains open until Sunday, the 6th of January 2019.

Although the nativity village is always open, it will only be Animated on the following days:

Sunday, 9th December 3.30pm – 7.30pm

Wednesday, 12th December * 9.30am – 12.00pm

Thursday, 13th December 2.30pm – 7.30pm

Saturday, 15th December 4.30pm – 8.30pm

Sunday, 16th December 2.30pm – 7.30pm

Saturday, 22nd December 4.30pm – 8.30pm

Sunday 23rd December 2.30pm – 7.30pm

Tuesday 25th December 3.30pm – 8.00pm

Wednesday 26th December 2.30pm – 7.30pm

Friday, 28th December 4.30pm – 7.30pm

Saturday, 29th December 4.30pm – 8.30pm

Sunday 30th December 2.30pm – 7.30pm

Tuesday, 1st January 3.30pm – 8.00pm

Saturday, 5th January** Activity Magi in Malta

Sunday, 6th January *** 2.00pm – 8.00pm

*animated by the children for the school children and elderly

**Event in Malta in aid of community chest fund. Details to be announced at a later date

*** Departure of the Three Kings from Malta and Official Closing Ceremony.

  • Permalink: Bethlehem f’Ghajniselem Nativity Village celebrating its 10th edition
  • You may also like...

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *